Chattizen Beta

Constitutional Officers

Constitutional officers are elected officials in Hamilton County government. Typically, the office they oversee has a specialized function, like determining how much property is worth. Constitutional officers serve four-year terms.

Assessor of Property

Bill Bennett

The assessor of property determines the value of all property in Hamilton County. His office’s assessment is used to calculate property taxes for county government and its municipalities.

Property is appraised every four years. The most recent appraisal occurred in 2013.

The assessor is elected on a different four-year cycle than the other officers.


County Clerk

Bill Knowles

The county clerk issues licenses, permits and other registrations. The office also collects fees and some types of tax revenue, such as wheel, hotel/motel and business taxes.

He also serves as secretary to the County Commission.


Register of Deeds

Pam Hurst

The register of deeds is responsible for deeds, powers of attorney and other legal records.

Many of the legal instruments recorded by the register’s office relate to the rights of property owners or deal with a person’s legal relationship to another person or entity.



Bill Hullander

The trustee is the county’s treasurer. He collects county property taxes, accounts for and disburses public dollars, and invests county funds.

The office also collects property taxes for other municipalities, excluding Chattanooga and Signal Mountain.


Court Clerks

Circuit Court Clerk Larry Henry
Criminal Court Clerk Vince Dean
Juvenile Court Clerk Gary Behler
Clerk and Master Lee Akers (appointed)

Court clerks collect and prepare documents for the courts they serve. The clerk and master is not elected; he is appointed to a six-year term by chancellors.

Court clerks archive all records that are for a court session. This material consists of lawsuits, petitions, transcripts and audio files.


Jim Hammond

The sheriff’s office is Hamilton County’s law enforcement agency. The sheriff oversees the county jail. His office executes court orders, such as search and arrest warrants.

The sheriff’s office is divided into five departments: law enforcement, corrections, support services, criminal investigations and administration.