Chattizen Beta

Other Offices

There are other offices and elected officials in city government other than the mayor and City Council members.

City Judges

Chattanooga’s court system consists of of two city judges. They serve eight-year terms and are elected in citywide elections. They are not term-limited.

Judges Russell Bean and Sherry Patty were last re-elected in May 2014.

City judges preside over cases involving violations of City Code, as well as some criminal misdemenors within the city’s jurisdiction. Examples of code violations include parking and traffic violations, cases involving animal control, and public nuisances.

Office of City Attorney

Chattanooga’s city attorney is appointed by the mayor. The city attorney’s office serves the mayor, his administration and the City Council. The city attorney provides legal advice, drafts legislative language and defends the city in litigation.

Office of Internal Audit

Chattanooga’s auditor provides independent review of city functions, contracts and financial records. The auditor is appointed by an audit committee.